Regrets Of Homeschooling. Part One: Science

Some of you know and some of you may not know that from 1st grade through 6th grade, I homeschooled my oldest son Matthew. My wife and I were not satisfied with the quality of his education at public school so we pulled him after one year. I know it may sound a little ridiculous that we made that kind of rash decision after one year of half-day kindergarten, but we did. I think that us being good little Christians may have had more to do with it than the education and light bullying that went on out on the playground. So, we decided we’d teach him ourselves.

Not any education would do. He needed good Christian teaching. Private Christian schools in the area were far too expensive so we purchased our homeschool curriculum from a company that was affiliated with an accredited Christian school. It had good reviews so we ordered it up and we were off. At the time, we didn’t notice anything “off” about the text books. They seemed to be pretty standard but of course with a lot of Bible verses mixed in. Not a big deal. Although time-consuming and incredibly boring, my son did well and learned the same basics that public school kids would learn. However, it was the “extra-curricular” learning that troubles me now. I couldn’t see it back then but now I feel like I did my son such a disservice by teaching him what I now know is a lie.

We kept the textbooks and all of the work my son did over those six years besides what we had to turn in to the school for grading purposes. I pulled out a few books tonight just out of morbid curiosity. Just like watching the Ken Ham/Bill Nye debate as a Christian and then again years later as a non-Christian, I could not believe what I was seeing. I’ll only give a few examples as to not completely bore anyone, but remember I have six years of this garbage sitting in my house. I will say this about the books; they have a very common theme. They are all worship books. Every one of them. Science? Praise God. History? Praise God. Math? Praise God. Really? Math too? Yup…Praise God.

The “science” book I pulled out tonight had this in the preface: “Although it is important to learn the facts of science, it is even more vital to know why God made all things. The Lord made all for His glory. As a result, the only proper response to a study of God’s creation is worship and praise. May the Creator grant each reader the desire to study the wonders of science to the glory of God.Seriously, that is what it says. It is more vital to know why God did things than it is to learn facts. I will list a few chapters (I skipped some of the less “preachy” chapters) and some “interesting” quotes:

1.) Days of Creation:

-God created everything in 6 days. “He did not need years and years to create everything because God is wise and strong.”

-“As God’s creatures, we must be sure to worship Him as the great Creator. Thank God that He made the heavens, the earth, and everything in it.”

2.) God Made Plants:

God made plants for our good. The more we learn about plants. the more we learn about the wise Creator.”

“God was very wise when He made all kinds of plants.”

“When I look at the world it is easy to see plants are a gift God has given to me.”

3.) God Made Insects:

“God was very wise when He made the insects.”

4.) God Made Animals:

“How do some animals keep warm through the winter? God has given them a different gift. God let’s them hibernate.”

5.) God Made People:

“God made the world and He made people to live in it. The Lord put people on the earth to love and serve Him. That was part of His plan. God has a plan for everything He has made, and that includes you.”

-“You are a part of God’s plan. He wants you to love and serve Him. God the Creator also wants you to learn more about Him and His creation. That is why He has given you a wonderful body, mind and soul.”

-“If you carefully look at things around you, you are studying God’s creation. When you are studying God’s creation, it is called SCIENCE.

“You can hear with your ears. God wants you to hear things.”

-“You can taste with your tongue. God wants you to taste things.”

-“You can feel with your skin. God wants you to feel things.”

-“You can smell with your nose. God wants you to smell good things.”

-“God made you to see with your eyes. He expects you to make good use of them.”

-“You must take care of your body for God’s glory.”

This “science” book ends with “A Few Last Words” Here they are:

“We hope that you have enjoyed your study of “Our Father’s World.” It is our prayer that you will continue to study God’s wonderful creation in the days ahead. Most important of all, however, we pray that you will come to know God’s son, Christ Jesus, as your savior. Through Christ, the world was made. All power in heaven and earth belongs to Him. He alone can give you wisdom for life on earth and for the world to come.”

When I taught this to my son, I thought I was doing him a favor. I thought I was teaching him all of the things that the public schools wouldn’t allow. I thought I was teaching him truth. Was I teaching him truth though? Yes and no. The facts seemed to be pretty standard. Typical elementary school science. The only real difference between this science book and a public school science book were the subliminal brainwashing parts. “You have eyes.” God gave you eyes. “You have ears.” God gave you ears. “Animals hibernate.” God gave animals the gift of hibernation. There are true statements in this book. These were true statements. You do indeed have eyes and ears. Animals do indeed hibernate. But they have to slap on a prayer or a “praise God” to make it “Christian.”

The parts that really bother me are the “come to Jesus” parts and the “be a slave to God” parts. Why are we here? To do God’s bidding. What do we need to do in every waking moment? Thank God. Is God an ordinary god? No. He is wise and powerful. I picture these statements as being read in a robot or zombie voice. That’s because the Christian homeschool curriculum is designed to make robots and zombies. Good little soldiers who fall in line and follow orders. Make sure after every single fact is made in this science book to add that “God did it.” Don’t provide any proof. Just say God did it and repeat. And repeat. And repeat. Over and over again. Children’s minds are like sponges and they’ll soak it all in without even knowing it.

I don’t know how many parts I’ll have to this “series” of posts. I just want to expose some of what goes on behind closed doors in a Christian homeschool environment. I was brainwashed into thinking I was doing the right thing and in turn I was brainwashing my child. What I was doing was mixing fact with fiction and teaching it all as fact. But that’s what Christianity is, isn’t it? Fact mixed with fiction? You can read the Bible and you will learn that some things actually happened. Some places actually exist. Jesus may have actually been a real person. Then throw in a bunch of supernatural parts that are mythical in nature and completely without evidence and pass it all of as truth. Remember this, if you add one grain of dirt to a pure glass of water, even if it still looks pure, it is tainted. I tainted 6 years of my son’s education. In short, I brought church home with me. Shame on me.
https://learningwhogodisandwhoheisnot.wordpress.com

23 thoughts on “Regrets Of Homeschooling. Part One: Science

  1. One of my favorite sayings; You know that little white speck on the top of the chicken shit? That little white speck is chicken shit too. They just glossed over the good bible stuff as usual. Nothing is as it’s propped up to be. It’s all a big happy illusion backed by horror.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Most chicken shit you can get for free…if you really want it. Me? I paid for those books. I could’ve invested in stocks or bonds but instead my portfolio consists of one big white speck.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Well ic nothing else you looked silly. That’s worth something. I have plenty of my own stories. I just hope he doesn’t fall into the “train up a child in the way he should go” crap. Those are Big years for indoctrination

    Liked by 2 people

    1. As a family, we all the see the mistakes we made based on the lies we were told. The good news is that he’s 13 now, in public school and doing great. My middle child was still in utero when we were leaving the church so he doesn’t know anything about it. My youngest is the “purest” of the bunch. He’s never set foot in a church, inside or outside the womb. 🙂

      It was all a learning experience. I can’t change what’s happened to me or my family, but I can do my best to educate other people and hopefully they’ll learn from my mistakes. I don’t know of any ex-Christian who doesn’t have something they regret about it. None of us did it intentionally. We did the wrong things because we were taught they were right.

      Liked by 4 people

  4. Growing up on the East Coast, I knew only one person who was home schooled… because there was a requirement that they had to show up to public school on the first day. (Not sure why). Having moved out to the midwest, there are a ton of kids I know who get home schooled. It kind of blows my mind but I am sort of in the bible belt.

    I never really thought about the difference between public school books and the home schooled books but it is good to know. It sounds like it’s not just social studies but.. God and Social Studies 🙂 Part of me says, to each his own. Another part of me is just shaking my head.

    Dave

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Ben,

    What a revealing, disturbing post about religious home-schooling. As I was reading I was reminded of two things, two similarities; in fact, several similarities both direct and indirect:

    1. — In most of the Islamic nations today and historically, particularly the more impoverished Islamic nations, all they teach their kids is NOTHING BUT the Quran. That’s it! Some pockets of less impoverished Islamic states will/might teach some very, very BASIC mathematics and business principles, however, the bulk of the curriculum is strictly the Quran. ISIS, the Taliban, Al-Qaeda, and more push young boys to insane amounts of memorization of the Quran then their teacher/leader gives his own (biased) interpretation of those passages. How different is that compared to American Fundamentalist Christian home-schooling?

    2. — David Koresh’s Branch Davidians did the exact same thing to all the young children, especially his own children he fathered from several women/wives, some of which were under 18 years old. The slight difference with Koresh & the Branch Davidians was there obsession or tunnel-vision of the Book of Revelations… and of course the Seven Seals.

    These two things beg the question(s), How well does this strict, narrow, one-dimensional education really PREPARE a child for the bigger, extremely diverse, multi-cultural real world out there?

    I’m happy you have realized now the “disservice” to your child. The good thing is Ben that it is not too late for him to learn a broader realm of “the facts,” the most likelies, the probables, the unlikelies, and the farsicals. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The most disturbing parts of all of this is how they use the tried and true method of repetition to get kids to blindly yell out Amen whenever they learn something. It’s a trick. Just say God did it over and over again. Before too long, kids will indeed believe that no matter what happens in life, God did it. Our brains love repetition and the church knows it. Anything you say over and over again will stick. I still remember a combination to a lock I used over 30 years ago when I was still a kid. I unlocked it so many times that the numbers are just part of me now. The lock is long gone but those numbers are still in my head

      Repeating the same thing over and over again doesn’t make it fact though. Just about every Christian can recite John 3:16 word for word. That doesn’t mean that God actually sent his one and only son nor does it mean God is real either. But say it enough times and you’ll believe it. Humans are easily manipulated, especially children.

      I see the changes in my son since being part of public school and nearly all of them have been positive. Even though I had the best of intentions by teaching him from home, you posed a good question. “How well does this strict, narrow, one-dimensional education really PREPARE a child for the bigger, extremely diverse, multi-cultural real world out there?” The answer is, it doesn’t. The child may learn enough to be rather book smart, but as far as functioning in a multi-cultural society, he’ll be ill-equipped. I learned the dangers of raising a child this way. Luckily I learned before it was too late.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. You emphasize the power of repetition on the malleable human brain and you are certainly right, whether the repetition reflects reality or not, and in some cases whether that deluding cognitive effect is positive or negative to the person or community.

        What I find most extraordinary and dumb-founding is that from the subatomic level up to the macro-cosmic level of ALL SYSTEMS… over time, especially over a century or millenia, NOTHING stays identically the same! Or to put it another way: NOTHING in existence is “repetitive”! NOTHING!!! Yet, millions of human brains believe many, many things never change; they are repetitive. Hahahaha! 🤣🤪

        So why not learn all the nuts-n-bolts of perpetual infinite change? Learn how things CHANGE, LIVE, EVOLVE, DIE or transform, and then in one week, learn how your previous cerebral constructs have changed and become wrong… if even microscopically.

        Does this mean that the only repetitive thing in existence is change? 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. The only constant in life is change. That’s a fact. However, religion is said to be the exception to that rule. “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today and forever”, right? Supposedly God doesn’t change and presumably his rules never change. Yet we live thousands of years after the time when God supposedly gave us his instructions. Most of the things written about were for people in that time period. It’s almost as if God couldn’t see into the future and give us rules and instruction that would transcend time. Instead, we have to pick and choose which laws to follow and which are antiquated. Usually whatever benefits the church the most is what is kept.

        Liked by 2 people

      3. Indeed Ben. His/God’s foresight, design, and “perfection” is glaringly bad, even utterly incompetent. And why on Earth wait millions or thousands of years to let the Jews know about Himself, THEN wait some 3,500 more years to get His “Word” out to the rest of the world!? Hahahahaha! Talk about terrible planning! 🤣

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Ben – I appreciate your post – it helps me to think a bit more about how my children perceive me and what I teach them. Just wanted to note – indoctrination to an institution’s or parent’s beliefs happens anywhere a child is taught. I am glad public school is working out for your son. It is not the case for everyone. BTW – Have you figured out where you belong yet? (Blog Title)

        Like

  6. Just say God did it and repeat. And repeat. And repeat. Over and over again.

    That’s all it takes, brother! As proved day in and day out in church services, worship songs, bible study, street preachers, personal testimonies, church signboards, Christian blogs … and Christian home-schooling books.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. *Shudder* Made my skin crawl just reading that.
    There is a chap in England, Johnny Scaramanga , who managed to get out of ACE (Accelerated Christian Education) – a YEC program that literally indoctrinates kids from day one.
    One of their text books has an illustration of a dinosaur pulling a wagon! I am not kidding!

    Johnny wrote his doctorate on his experiences and is/was ? actively petitioning the UK government to ban this horrific form of schooling.
    haven’t followed him for a while as he blogs so infrequently so I don’t know how he is doing.
    The last I heard he was playing in a rock band! 🙂

    How’s your son these days, Ben?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My son is doing well. He’s working well in groups. He’s even got a girlfriend in his first year in school…though they are claiming they’re just friends. 🙂 So far so good. He’s learning a lot of new things and not continuing to learn the things we no longer accept as truth. So it’s been great.

      Like

      1. It must be like waiting to open Christmas pressies!
        I’m excited to see what transpires and I’m on the other side of the world!

        It was suggested over dinner that you should make a mini-documentary of the progress.
        You might be able to offer it to National Geographic, or at the very least stick it on Facebook/Youtube.
        Would be an excellent punt for naturalism!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Not a bad idea. Not sure if I should hope for 10 eggs that aren’t viable or 10 successful hatches. It’d be sad if they didn’t hatch but if they did, I’ll have a bunch of snakes I need to find homes for.

        In a few weeks I may “candle” them with a flashlight to see if anything is growing in there. She’s very protective though. She doesn’t want me near her. She hissed at me for the first time in over 20 years.

        Like

Leave a comment